Your Australian Native Bee Association Inc. (ANBA) Is building a dynamic member based organisation dedicated to protecting all native bees (not only stingless bees), protecting our members and providing great learning resources and social experiences. We are working with many to build a national network.

Join the Australian Native Bee Association

We invite amateurs with an interest in native bees and professionals in the industry to join our national association. Benefits include:

  • Networking opportunities and a contact hub to connect people with native bees together to share experiences and information on bee diversity, people, climates, habitats, techniques and ideas,
  • Public Liability Insurance for meetings and field days,
  • A high quality and informative Newsletter: “The Cross Pollinator”,
  • Discounts on workshops,
  • A discount to the annual Australian Native Bee Conference.

Annual membership fee is $50 for Standard membership, $35 for Concessional and $100 for Industry membership . Fees payable by credit card or bank transfer. We follow a July to June year, if you join part-way through this period, we automatically reduce the membership fee prorata. For example, if you join in December you will pay only 7/12 of the fee. 

Australian Native Bee Association Inc., Management Committee

All members of the Management Committee would be happy to hear from you with questions, suggestions etc.

  • President: Ian Driver, Email:
  • Vice President: Mark Hall, Email:
  • Past President: Tim Heard, 0434 416053, Email:
  • Secretary: Alex Griffiths, Email:
  • Treasurer: Peter Stone, Email:
  • Membership Officer: Lachlan Driver, Email:
  • Web Administrator: Steve Flavel, Email:
  • Committee Member: Kit Prendergast, Email:
  • Committee Member: Tobias Smith, Email:
  • Chair of Honey Subcommittee: Dean Haley, Email:
  • Brisbane Branch Representative: Jason Laskus, Email:
  • Cassowary Coast Branch Representative: Lea Merone,
  • Rockhampton Branch Representative: Lloyd Younger,
  • Gladstone Branch Representative: Mark Larney,
  • Wide Bay Branch Representative: Josh Greaves,
  • Sydney Branch Representative: Sam Higgins,
  • Mid-north Coast Branch Representative: Diane Norris,
  • Coffs Harbour Branch Representative: Monica Rich,

Newsletter submissions:

Branch Executives and Contacts

Brisbane branch

  • Meet on the first Sunday of each month at 1pm. Bulimba Community Centre.
  • Chairperson: Dean Haley,
  • SecretaryGreg Shea,
  • Treasurer: Peter Stone,
  • Events coordinator: Tim Heard,
  • Committee Members: Jennifer Shea, Steve Brownlie, Wayne Berry
  • Representative to ANBA Management Committee: Jason Laskus, 

Cassowary Coast branch

  • Chairperson: Lea Merone
  • Secretary: Liz Lang,
  • Representative to ANBA Management Committee: Lea Merone

Gladstone branch

  • Chairperson: Mark Larney,
  • Secretary / Treasurer: Ian Anderson,
  • Events Co-Ordinator: Chris Fahey, chrisfahey80@yahoo.comand  Doug Stephan,
  • Representative to ANBA Management Committee: Mark Larney,

Wide Bay branch

  • Chairperson: Josh Greaves
  • Vice-Chairpseron: Adam Kent, 0488268245
  • Secretary: Stephan Curran,
  • Treasurer: Brendan Macpherson, 0404122243,
  • Representative to ANBA Management Committee: Josh Greaves

Sydney branch

  • Co-Chairs: Michelle Carrick, / Sam Higgins,
  • Secretary: Natalie Er
  • Treasurer: Dan Smailes,
  • Communications & Promotion: Dan Smailes,
  • Art & Film Coordinator: Isaac Mayer,
  • Culture, Arts & Education Coordinator: Amelie Vanderstock,
  • Rescue and Conservation Co-ordinator: Zac Narker,
  • Representative to ANBA Management Committee: Sam Higgins,

Rockhampton branch

  • Chairperson: Lloyd Younger,
  • Treasurer: Murray Smith,
  • Representative to ANBA Management Committee: Lloyd Younger,

Mid North Coast NSW branch

Meet on the first Thursday of each month at 7pm. Laurieton United Services Club.

  • Chairperson: Diane Norris,, 0422 639 336, 02 6559 4298
  • Secretary: Jenny Wadsworth, 0434 220 364,
  • Treasurer: Michelle Lawler, 0418 214 255,
  • Events Coordinator/Communication Officer: Jim Marchment, 0418 414 678,
  • Representative to ANBA Management Committee: Diane Norris,

Coffs Harbour branch

  • Chair / Secretary: Monica Rich,
  • Treasurer: Elaine Bean,
  • Representative to ANBA Management Committee: Monica Rich,

Newsletter and Website Contacts

Please submit all articles/reports to:

Articles, images and photos on this website are subject to copyright and may not be copied or used in anyway without permission. Normal sharing and linking is perfectly ok. Please add a link back to the original article.