Your Australian Native Bee Association Inc. (ANBA) Is building a dynamic member based organisation dedicated to protecting all native bees (not only stingless bees), protecting our members and providing great learning resources and social experiences. We are working with many to build a national network.

Join the Australian Native Bee Association

We invite amateurs with an interest in native bees and professionals in the industry to join our national association. Benefits include:

  • Networking opportunities and a contact hub to connect people with native bees together to share experiences and information on bee diversity, people, climates, habitats, techniques and ideas,
  • Public Liability Insurance for meetings and field days,
  • A high quality and informative Newsletter: “The Cross Pollinator”,
  • Discounts on workshops,
  • A discount to the annual Australian Native Bee Conference.

Fees payable by credit card or bank transfer. We follow a July to June year, if you join part-way through this period, we automatically reduce the membership fee prorata. For example, if you join in December you will pay only 7/12 of the fee. 


Australian Native Bee Association Inc., Management Committee

All members of the Management Committee would be happy to hear from you with questions, suggestions etc.

  • President: Mark Hall, Email: thebeeecologist@gmail.com
  • Vice President: Megan Halcroft, Email: megan@beesbusiness.com.au
  • Past President: Ian Driver. Email: ian.driver@anba.org.au
  • Secretary & Communications Officer: Tim Heard, 0434 416053, Email: tim.heard@anba.org.au
  • Treasurer: Peter Stone, Email: treas@australiannativebee.org.au

  • Web Administrator: Steve Flavel, Email: steve.flavel@anba.org.au
  • Committee Member: Alex Griffiths, Email: griffiths.alex@bigpond.com
  • Committee Member: Tobias Smith, Email: tobias.smith@uqconnect.edu.au
  • Chair of Honey Subcommittee: Dean Haley, Email: josephhale67@gmail.com

  • Brisbane Branch Representative: Dean Haley, Email: josephhale67@gmail.com
  • Cairns Branch Representative: Stewart Clarke, Email: sclarkehk@gmail.com
  • Rockhampton Branch Representative: Lloyd Younger, rockyyoungers@hotmail.com
  • Gladstone Branch Representative: Mark Larney, larneys@internode.on.net
  • Wide Bay Branch Representative: Greg Pern kays_51@hotmail.com
  • Sydney Branch Representative: Sam Higgins, sam.higgins@outlook.com.au
  • Mid-north Coast Branch Representative: Diane Norris, diane.beewild@gmail.com
  • Coffs Harbour Branch Representative: Monica Rich, Monicarich00@gmail.com
  • Cassowary Coast Branch Representative: Liz Lang, Email: busylizzy.lang@gmail.com
  • Newsletter submissions: sec@anba.org.au

Branch Executives and Contacts

Brisbane branch

  • Chairperson: Dean Haley, josephhale67@gmail.com
  • Secretary: Greg Shea, gshea@bigpond.net.au
  • Treasurer: Peter Stone, treas@australiannativebee.org.au
  • Events coordinator: Tim Heard, tim.heard@anba.org.au
  • Committee Members: Jennifer Shea (jmshea@bigpond.com), Steve Brownlie (airchef1@bigpond.com), Nina Rodgers (nina.e.rodgers@gmail.com)
  • Representative to ANBA Management Committee: Dean Haley, josephhale67@gmail.com

Cassowary Coast branch

  • Chairperson: Liz Lang, Email: busylizzy.lang@gmail.com
  • Secretary: Sandy Ferris, dsferris@bigpond.com
  • Treasurer: Deirdre Holmes, dee1holmes@gmail.com
  • Representative to ANBA Management Committee: Liz Lang, Email: busylizzy.lang@gmail.com

Gladstone branch

  • Chairperson: Mark Larney, larneys@internode.on.net
  • Secretary / Treasurer: Ian Anderson, iganderson50@bigpond.com
  • Events Co-Ordinator: Chris Fahey, chrisfahey80@yahoo.comand  Doug Stephan, stephands@bigpond.com
  • Representative to ANBA Management Committee: Mark Larney, larneys@internode.on.net

Wide Bay branch

  • Chairperson: Greg Pern, kays_51@hotmail.com
  • Vice-Chairperson: Trevor Galletly, trevorbundy8@gmail.com
  • Secretary: Stephan Curran, curran86@bigpond.net.au
  • Treasurer: Brendan Macpherson, 0404122243, brendan@brendio.com
  • Representative to ANBA Management Committee: Greg Pern, kays_51@hotmail.com (acting)

Sydney branch

  • Co-Chairs: Michelle Carrick, michelleacarrick@gmail.com / Sam Higgins, sam.higgins@outlook.com.au
  • Secretary: Natalie Er natalieer@hotmail.com
  • Treasurer: Isaac Mayer, isaac@bushbees.com
  • Communications & Social media: Zac Narker, zacnarker@icloud.com
  • Representative to ANBA Management Committee: Sam Higgins, sam.higgins@outlook.com.au

Rockhampton branch

  • Chairperson: Lloyd Younger, rockyyoungers@hotmail.com
  • Treasurer: Marg Barry margbee4703@gmail.com
  • Representative to ANBA Management Committee: Lloyd Younger, rockyyoungers@hotmail.com

Mid North Coast NSW branch

Meet on the first Thursday of each month at 7pm. Laurieton United Services Club.

  • Chair/Secretary: Diane Norris, diane.beewild@gmail.com
  • Treasurer/Assistant Secretary: Joan Opbroek
  • Representative to ANBA Management Committee: Diane Norris, diane.beewild@gmail.com

Coffs Harbour branch

  • Chair / Secretary: Monica Rich, Monicarich00@gmail.com
  • Treasurer: Elaine Bean, elaine.bean77@gmail.com
  • Representative to ANBA Management Committee: Monica Rich, Monicarich00@gmail.com

Cairns branch

  • Chair: Stewart Clarke sclarkehk@gmail.com
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Mandy Sapper sapmal30@gmail.com
  • Committee Members: Michael and Nadine Dunne, anba@familysnaps.net
  • Representative to ANBA Management Committee: Stewart Clarke sclarkehk@gmail.com

Newsletter and Website Contacts

Please submit all articles/reports to: sec@anba.org.au

Articles, images and photos on this website are subject to copyright and may not be copied or used in anyway without permission. Normal sharing and linking is perfectly ok. Please add a link back to the original article.